Chronography of Madagascar

Page last modified 12/12//2022


Home Page


Click here for map of Madagscar changes


See also Africa


2006, Ravalomana won elections. In 2007 the electorate approved plans to increase Presidential powers.

2003, Ratsiraka retired; he was given a 10 year sentence of hard labour in absentia for corruption. His former Prime Minister received a 12-year sentence.

2002, Madagascar was divided as opposition leader Marc Ravalomana claimed victory in the 2001 Presidential elections. Mediation by the Organisation of African Unity failed to break the deadlock, as the incumbent President Didier Ratsiraka set up a rival government oin the port city of Tamatave. The High Court ruled in favour of Ravalomana and Ratsiraka went into exile.

1997, Ratsiraka was elected President.

1996, Zafy was impeached.

1993, Zafy�s CFV Party defeated Ratsiraka�s coalition government in free elections.

1991, Opposition Forces Vives (CFV), a coalition of opposition parties, was set up by Albert Zafy.

1977, A �Democratic Republic� was set up, with only one political Party permitted.

1975, Didier Ratsikira, a radical socialist, took power.

26/6/1960, Madagascar became an independent republic.It had been a French colony since 1896.

14/10/1958, Madagascar gained autonomy.

29/3/1947. Nationalist uprising in Madagascar against the French. Thiusands were killed in riots.

7/5/1942, Madagascar was occupied by British troops to forestall any Japanese invasion.

1898, Viiolent anti-French protests began, lasting until 1906. They were brutally suppressed.

1897, End of the reign of the last monarch of Madagascar, Queen Ranavalona (reigned 1883-97).

6/8/1896. Madagascar was proclaimed a French colony.

30/9/1895. The capital of Madagascar, Tananarive, surrendered to the French.

5/8/1890.Britain agreed to recognise Madagascar as a French colony and France recognised Zanzibar as a British protectorate. France gave up claims to the lower Niger and retained the desert territories of the Sahara.

13/6/1883, The French continued fighting in Madagascar.Tamatave was bombarded and French subjects expelled from the capital.

16/5/1883, The French commenced hostilities in Madagascar, bombarding Majunga.

1827, King Radama I, Hova King of Madagascar, died after an 18-year reign during which British influence had been encouraged. He was succeeded by Queen Ranavaloana I, who reigned foir 33 years and was hostile to both British and French influence and missionaries

1686, France formally annexed Madagascar.

10/6/1660, Etienne de Flacourt, French colonial Governor of Madagascar, died (born 1607).

1500, Portuguese explorer Diego Dias visited Madagascar.


Back to top