Chronography of the Dominican republic

Page last modified 20 September 2023


Home Page

See also South, Central, America


Demography of the Dominican Republic


2004, Lionel Fernandez was re-elected, and introduced austerity measures to reduce inflation.

2000, Hipolito Mejia, of the centre-left Domincan Revolutionary Party, became President. His popularity was soon diminished by high inflation, electricity shortages and major bank collapses.

1998, Hurricane did severe damage to the Dominican Republic.

1996, Lionel Fernandez, of the moderate Dominican Liberation Party,succeeded Balaguer as President.

1985, Blanco introduced austerity measures.


Rule by Bosch (Leftist)

June 1966, In the Dominican Republic, Bosch was defeated in Presidential elections by former President Balaguer. Under Balaguer, the Dominican Republic received much aid from the US to repair the damage done in the 1965 civil war; unemployment, however, remained high. Balaguer was re-elected in 1970 but amidst charges of election fraud; Bosch supporters boycotted the election.

5 May 1965, Truce in the Dominican Republic between the Leftist and Rightist warring factions.

4 May 1965, Colonel Francisco Caama�o was sworn in as President of the Dominican Republic at the presidential palace in Santo Domingo, after rebel forces convened a constitutional congress and voted to have him govern until the return of exiled ex-President Juan Bosch. Addressing a crowd of 2,500 supporters in Independence Plaza, Caama�o called for the immediate withdrawal of the 14,000 American troops that had arrived in the Caribbean nation during the past week.

28 April 1965, US forces invaded the Dominican Republic. This country had been in political turmoil since the death of the longstanding dictator Rafael Trujillo in 1961. Free elections in December 1962 brought the mildly left-wing Juan Bosch to power, but he was quickly deposed in a military coup. This right-wing military junta was itself deposed in a further coup led by Colonel Francisco Caama, and Bosch was invited to return from exile and restore democracy. However the US was extremely wary, after Cuba, of any more leftist regimes being established in the Caribbean. On 28/4 US troops occupied the western half of the capital, Santo Domingo, whilst in the east right-wing generals took over the San Isidro air base, which was then opened to US military flights. However the US did not want to undertake a permanent occupation of the Dominican Republic; US troops were replaced by a Pan-American force under Brazilian command, and free elections organised in 1966, won by President Joaquin Balaguer.

25 April 1965, The military regime in the Dominican republic that took power in September 1963 was overthrown by pro-Bosch military officers.

25 September 1963, The Bosch administration in the Dominican Republic was overthrown in a bloodless coup by the military, who alleged that Bosch was too pro-Communist.

27 February 1963, Juan Bosch, Dominican Revolutionary Party, winner of the elections of the elections of December 1962 (first free elections there for over 30 years), was inaugurated as President.

20 December 1962, The Dominican republic held its first free elections in 38 years. The Leftist candidate, Juan Bosch Gavino won the Presidency.



30 May 1961, Rafael Trujillo, corrupt and dictatorial President of the Dominican Republic, was assassinated. He had been ruler since he overthrew the benevolent but inefficient rule of President Horacio Velasquez, who acceded in July 1924. After the assassination a brief period of democratic rule under President Juan Bosch from December 1962 to September 1963 was succeeded by a military junta.

2 October 1937, President Trujillo of the Dominican Republic ordered a massacre of Haitians living in the north-west of the Dominican Republic. This was the so-calledParsley Massacre�. Over 20,000 people were killed for failing to pronounce the word for parsley (perejil) correctly). The massacre was aimed at Haitian migrants who, not being native Spanish speakers, struggled to roll the letter �r�.

1930, General Rafael Trujillo became President.


Administration by USA

21 October 1922, Juan Bautista Vicini Burgos became the provisional president of the Dominican Republic as the U.S. administration of the country formally ended.

1916, The Dominican Republic was occupied by US troops,until 1924; the US retained custoims control until 1940.

20 January 1905,President Roosevelt took control of the Dominican Republic�s national and international debts, although the US Senate had not approved of this.


1865, The Dominican Republic became independent again, but governance was unstable.

1861, Spanish colonial control was re-established at the request of President Pedro Santana, to ward off Haitian attempts to retake the Dominican Republic.

27 February 1844, The Dominican Republic seceded from Haiti.

1822, Haiti invaded the Domican Republic. See Haiti.

30 November 1821, The Dominican Republic (eastern half of Hispaniola, west = Haiti) became independent from Spain.

Independence from Spain, together with Haiti


1806, Spain re-established colonial control over eastern Hispaniola (Domincan Repubic), see Haiti, instability, 1806.

1795, By treaty with Spain, France acquired sovereignty over the whole island (Hispaniola).

1697, Hispaniola was divided between Spain and France.

1511, The Dominican Republic (eastern half of Hispaniola, west = Haiti) became a Spanish colony.

1492, Columbus first visited the island of Hispaniola.


Back to top